• deutsch | english

The Interactive Ward Round Table – A Cognitive Interface for the Integration of Multiple Documents in Medical Team Meetings

Project description

The preparation of the daily ward round is a demanding task for a medical team: Multiple different documents such as indications, laboratory results, reports, doctor letters, radiology images, etc. have to be integrated into decisions about the diagnoses and treatments for each patient. Medical information systems play a central role in this process. They provide access to hundreds of medical documents. However, only a few documents can be discussed within the available time for each patient. Yet, medical information systems typically are not optimized to separate relevant from irrelevant documents and to integrate several sources of information into a coherent whole. Moreover, they typically are single-user applications. 


In the present project we aim at designing and implementing a new cognitive interface that supports medical experts in their cognitive processes related to reading, evaluating, and integrating multiple documents when preparing for and conducting ward rounds. Specifically, we aim at developing an interactive multi-touch table interface on which multiple documents can be simultaneously displayed and compared. When designing the cognitive interface, we will build on the documents model framework by Britt and colleagues (e.g., Britt & Rouet, 2012), an established theoretical framework that describes the mental representations that individuals create when they process multiple documents on a complex issue. Our cognitive interface will allow externalizing parts of these mental representations, specifically information regarding the documents’ relevance and the relationships between documents (e.g. through the possibility to filter and group documents or to mark or annotate them). Thereby, we aim at reducing the amount of time and cognitive resources needed by medical experts to find the right diagnosis or to decide on a treatment. Implemented as a multi-user application with intuitive multi-touch movements such as rotating, sliding or zooming, our system also offers opportunities for group discussions during ward round preparation. In three lab experiments we will test core features of the cognitive interface and respective assumptions. Additionally, in a usability study the new prototype will be compared with a standard system currently in use at the Medical University Clinic Tübingen.



  1. Project Team

Publications
Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2019). Inferential reasoning driving clinical diagnosis: Suggestions for new assessment approaches. Proceedings of the 32nd IEEE International Symposium on Computer Based Medical Systems (pp. 551-554). Cordoba, Spain: IEEE.
Doi: 10.1109/CBMS.2019.00113

Conference Contributions
Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., & Gerjets, P. (2018, November). Does a simultaneous rather than sequential presentation of multiple documents result in a more complete documents model? Workshop on Multiple Documents Literacy. Bochum. [Poster]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Kramer, J., Oestermeier, U., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2017, October). MD-TRACE inspired support of medical decision making on a multi-touch table. Workshop on Multiple Documents Comprehension. Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien, Tübingen, Germany. [Poster]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2018, November). Interactive ward round table – Interaction patterns fostered by presentation format of multiple documents. Internationaler Workshop des Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen „WCT meets HCI“. Tübingen. [Talk]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2018, Juni). Ward Round Table - Development and Experimental Evaluation of a Cognitive User Interface for Multi-Touch Tables to Support Diagnostic Reasoning. Computer Based Medical Systems (CBMS). Karlstad, Schweden. [Talk]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., & Gerjets, P. (2018, August). How a simultaneous vs. sequential presentation of multiple documents affects information integration. European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI). Special Interest Group (SIG) 2: Comprehension of Text and Graphics. Freiburg.[Poster]

• deutsch | english

Interaktiver Visitetisch – Ein kognitives Interface für die Integration multipler Dokumente in medizinischen Team-Besprechungen

Projektbeschreibung

Die Vorbereitung der täglichen Visite ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe für jedes Ärzteteam: Zahlreiche verschiedene Dokumente, wie Indikationen, Laborbefunde, Berichte, Arztbriefe, Radiologieaufnahmen, etc. müssen in die Entscheidungen über Diagnosen und Behandlungen eines jeden Patienten miteinbezogen werden. Medizinische Informationssysteme spielen eine zentrale Rolle in diesem Prozess. Sie bieten Zugriff auf hunderte medizinische Dokumente. Allerdings können in der für jeden Patienten zur Verfügung stehenden Zeit nur wenige Dokumente berücksichtigt werden. Typischerweise sind medizinische Informationssysteme jedoch nicht dafür optimiert, relevante von irrelevanten Dokumenten zu trennen oder verschiedene Informationsquellen in ein stimmiges Gesamtbild zu integrieren. 


Ziel des vorliegenden Projektes ist die Entwicklung und Implementierung eines neuen kognitiven Interfaces, das Mediziner in ihren kognitiven Prozessen beim Lesen, Bewerten und Integrieren multipler Dokumente während der Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Visite unterstützt. Konkret soll ein interaktives Multitouch-Tisch Interface entwickelt werden, auf dem mehrere Dokumente simultan präsentiert und verglichen werden können. Der Gestaltung des Interface wird die Theorie der Repräsentation multipler Dokumente von Britt und Kollegen (z.B. Britt & Rouet, 2012) zugrunde gelegt. Dabei handelt es sich um ein etabliertes theoretisches Rahmenmodell zur Beschreibung der mentalen Repräsentationen, die Individuen bei der Verarbeitung multipler Dokumente zu einem komplexen Sachverhalt bilden. Das neue kognitive Interface soll Teile dieser mentalen Repräsentationen externalisieren, insbesondere Informationen bezüglich der Relevanz der Dokumente und bezüglich der Beziehungen zwischen den Dokumenten (z. B. durch die Möglichkeit, Dokumente zu filtern und zu gruppieren oder Markierungen und Annotationen vorzunehmen). Dadurch sollen die zur Stellung einer korrekten Diagnose oder einer Behandlungsentscheidung nötige Zeit und die erforderlichen kognitive Ressourcen der Mediziner reduziert werden. Da das System als Multi-User-Anwendung implementiert wird und durch intuitive Gesten wie Drehen, Schieben oder Großziehen gesteuert werden kann, bietet es auch die Möglichkeit, Gruppendiskussionen während der Visitenvorbereitung zu unterstützen. Die zentralen Elemente des kognitiven Interfaces und diesbezügliche Annahmen werden in drei Laborstudien getestet. Zusätzlich wird der neue Prototyp im Rahmen einer Usability-Studie mit dem momentan am Universitätsklinikum Tübingen im Einsatz befindlichen Standardsystem, verglichen.



Abbildung: Beispiel-Screenshot des Interface: Simultane Präsentation multipler Dokumente, deren Größe und Position frei verändert werden kann, die gleichzeitig aber immer auf der zoombaren Timeline zugeordnet bleiben.



  1. Projektbeteiligte

Publikationen
Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2019). Inferential reasoning driving clinical diagnosis: Suggestions for new assessment approaches. Proceedings of the 32nd IEEE International Symposium on Computer Based Medical Systems (pp. 551-554). Cordoba, Spain: IEEE.
Doi: 10.1109/CBMS.2019.00113


Konferenzbeiträge
Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., & Gerjets, P. (2018, November). Does a simultaneous rather than sequential presentation of multiple documents result in a more complete documents model? Workshop on Multiple Documents Literacy. Bochum. [Poster]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Kramer, J., Oestermeier, U., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2017, October). MD-TRACE inspired support of medical decision making on a multi-touch table. Workshop on Multiple Documents Comprehension. Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien, Tübingen, Germany. [Poster]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2018, November). Interactive ward round table – Interaction patterns fostered by presentation format of multiple documents. Internationaler Workshop des Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen „WCT meets HCI“. Tübingen. [Talk]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2018, Juni). Ward Round Table - Development and Experimental Evaluation of a Cognitive User Interface for Multi-Touch Tables to Support Diagnostic Reasoning. Computer Based Medical Systems (CBMS). Karlstad, Schweden. [Talk]

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., & Gerjets, P. (2018, August). How a simultaneous vs. sequential presentation of multiple documents affects information integration. European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI). Special Interest Group (SIG) 2: Comprehension of Text and Graphics. Freiburg.[Poster]