• deutsch | english

A Cognitive Interface for Educational Improvement:
Assessing Students’ Attentional Focus in the Classroom

Project description

Students’ focused attention is a central prerequisite for classroom learning. Research shows that teachers differ substantially in how successful they are in eliciting and guiding their students’ attention, which is often referred to as “classroom management” and “cognitive activation”. Furthermore, they may also not always be aware of their students’ attentional focus, and this may be particularly true for beginning teachers (teachers who are in the induction phase or shortly after this stage).


This project aims to develop an assistive “cognitive interface” which informs teachers about students’ focused attentional state. Such an interface could be used (1) in “realtime” in classrooms, (2) as part of teacher education (e.g. video feedback sessions that also include information on students’ attentional focus or “stand-alone” solutions that provide feedback on patterns of student engagement over the course of the teaching unit), and (3) in research projects that bring together classroom situations/teaching approaches with student outcomes.


A team of researchers who specialize in attentional and working-memory processes in learning situations (Gerjets), computational attention registration (Kasneci) and teaching quality (Trautwein) is brought together. During the project, a cognitive interface for teacher-led learning arrangements will be developed. The resulting interface will be validated in both the TüDiLab by collecting additional measures on students’ attentional focus and real classroom environments. These findings not only reveal the effects of cognitive interface when it is used in real classroom, but also provide a basis to understand the relation between students’ attentional focus and their learning of the topics.


  1. Project Team

• deutsch | english

Eine kognitive Schnittstelle zur Verbesserung des Unterrichts: Analyse der Aufmerksamkeit im Klassenzimmer

Projektbeschreibung

Aufmerksamkeit ist eine zentrale Grundvoraussetzung für den Lernerfolg. Nach aktuellem Forschungsstand gibt es substantielle Unterschiede zwischen Lehrkräften, wie erfolgreich sie die Aufmerksamkeit ihrer Schülerinnen und Schüler fördern und lenken. Hierauf wird oft mit den Begriffen “Classroom Management” und “Kognitive Aktivierung” Bezug genommen. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass Lehrkräfte nicht immer über den Aufmerksamkeitsfokus ihrer Schülerinnen und Schüler im Bilde sind, was insbesondere für angehende, noch unerfahrene Lehrkräfte (z. B. im bzw. kurz nach dem Referendariat) gilt.

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts soll eine unterstützende kognitive Schnittstelle entwickelt werden, die Lehrkräfte über den Aufmerksamkeitsstatus ihrer Schülerinnen und Schüler informiert. Eine solche Schnittstelle kann eingesetzt werden (1) in Echtzeit im Unterricht, (2) als Teil der Lehrerausbildung (z. B. als angereichertes Video-Feedback, das zusätzlich den Aufmerksamkeitsfokus darstellt, oder als eigenständige Lösung, die Feedback zum Aufmerksamkeitsverlauf über eine Unterrichtsstunde bietet) und (3) in Forschungsprojekten, um Zusammenhänge zwischen verschiedenen Unterrichtssituationen und -ansätzen mit dem Lernerfolg zu untersuchen.

Dieses Projekt bündelt Expertise aus den Bereichen Aufmerksamkeits- und Arbeitsgedächtnisprozesse in Lernsituationen (Prof. Dr. Gerjets), computergestützte Aufmerksamkeitsanalyse über Blickbewegungen (Jun.-Prof. Kasneci) und empirische Unterrichtsqualitätsforschung  (Prof. Dr. Trautwein). Die zu entwickelnde kognitive Schnittstelle wird  sowohl im Tübingen Digital Teaching Lab (TüDiLab) durch die Erfassung zusätzlicher Aufmerksamkeitsindikatoren, als auch in realen Klassenzimmern evaluiert. Die Ergebnisse dieses Projekts sollen nicht nur den Effekt der Nutzung einer solchen kognitiven Schnittstelle im Unterricht zeigen, sondern auch Grundlagen für das Verständnis der Beziehung zwischen Aufmerksamkeitsfokus und Lernerfolg von Schülerinnen und Schülern schaffen.


  1. Projektbeteiligte



Konferenzbeiträge

Goldberg, P., Stürmer, K., Göllner R., Wagner, W., Sümer, Ö., Gerjets, P., Kasneci, E.   Trautwein, U. (2018, Oktober). Aufmerksamkeitsprozesse von Lernenden in Unterrichtssituationen. LEAD Tag der Wissenschaft. Tübingen. [Vortrag]

Goldberg, P., Sümer, Ö., Stürmer, K., Göllner R., Wagner, W., Gerjets, P., Kasneci, E. & Trautwein, U. (2019, Februar). Aufmerksam oder nicht? Die kontinuierliche Erfassung von beobachtbarem Aufmerksamkeits-Verhalten in Instruktionssituationen. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Empirische Bildungsforschung (GEBF). Köln, Deutschland [Poster]

Sümer, Ö., Goldberg, P., Gerjets, P., Trautwein, U., Kasneci, E. (2019, February). Engagement Estimation in the Classroom. Theory and Practice in Machine Learning and Computer Vision (ICERM). Providence, USA. [Poster]

Sümer, Ö., Goldberg, P., Stürmer, K., Seidel, T., Gerjets, P., Trautwein, U., & Kasneci, E. (2018, Juni). Workshop on Teachers’ Perception in the Classroom. IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR). Salt Lake City, USA. [Talk]