• deutsch | english

Using Eye Tracking to Evaluate and Develop Innovative Teaching Strategies for Fostering Image Reading Skills of Novices in Dental Education

Project description

The ability to read medical images (e.g., panoramic X-rays) is an important skill required in dental medicine. Previous studies showed that reading X-rays is an error-prone process, with proficient performance requiring an extensive amount of practice. It is assumed that diagnostic errors occur in approximately 30% of the cases. Despite its relevance, evidence-based methods for teaching medical image reading to novice students are lacking. Furthermore, previous research on medical image reading in other clinical domains such as internal medicine cannot be directly transferred to the field of dental medicine because diagnostic strategies are strongly dependent on the task.


The project aims at gathering insights on students’ information processing during (learning about) medical image reading in dental medicine and at designing novel teaching methods to support knowledge work. As regards information design, the effects of different visualizations of another person’s eye movements superimposed onto medical images on learning will be studied. With respect to interaction design, an adaptive gaze-based training environment will be created, where students’ eye movements during image processing are analyzed online and individualized feedback is given.


Four in-situ studies embedded in the dental medicine students’ regular radiology courses will evaluate current educational practice as well as the developed training methods. Study 1 investigates the effects of massed practice on visual processing and diagnostic accuracy as a baseline; moreover, medial image reading is studied in various student populations that differ in their domain knowledge and task experience. Studies 2 and 3 address the add-on influence of targeted interventions based on eye movement modeling. Students will for example watch a video that shows the gaze replay of a person with high diagnosis accuracy. Study 4 investigates the effectiveness of gaze-based adaptive feedback.


  1. Project Team

• deutsch | english

Nutzung von Eye Tracking für die Evaluierung und Entwicklung innovativer Lehrstrategien zur Unterstützung der Bildbetrachtungskompetenz von Novizen in der zahnmedizinischen Ausbildung

Projektbeschreibung

Röntgenaufnahmen sind fester Bestandteil der zahnärztlichen Versorgung. Neben der Aufnahme einzelner Zähne werden sehr häufig Übersichtsaufnahmen beider Kiefer angefertigt. Die Forschung zeigt, dass es sich bei der Betrachtung und dem Erkennen erkrankter Strukturen (sog. Befunden) in Röntgenbildern um einen fehleranfälligen Prozess handelt, bei dem eine sehr gute Leistung mit umfangreicher Übung einhergeht. Dabei wird davon ausgegangen, dass diagnostische Fehler in ungefähr 30% der Fälle auftreten. Trotz der Relevanz des Prozesses existieren bisher keine evidenzbasierten Methoden für die Lehre der Befundung radiologischer Bilder. Darüber hinaus kann die bisherige Forschung zur Befundung radiologischer Aufnahmen aus anderen medizinischen Domänen, wie beispielsweise der Inneren Medizin nur eingeschränkt auf den Bereich der Zahnmedizin übertragen werden, da man davon ausgeht, dass Diagnosestrategien stark aufgabenabhängig sind.


Das Projekt hat das Ziel, Einblick in die Informationsverarbeitung von Studierenden während des Befundens radiologischer Bilder des Kiefers zu gewinnen und neue Lehrmethoden zur Unterstützung dieser Wissensarbeit zu entwickeln. Im Hinblick auf das Informationsdesign werden die Effekte verschiedener Visualisierungen der Blickbewegung einer anderen Person untersucht, die auf den radiologischen Aufnahmen eingeblendet wird. Im Bezug auf das Interaktionsdesign wird eine adaptive, blickbasierte Trainingsumgebung entwickelt, die die Blickbewegung der Studierenden während der Befundung online analysiert und individuelle Rückmeldungen gibt.


In vier in-situ Studien, die in den regulären Radiologiekurs der Zahnmedizinstudierenden eingebettet sind, wird die aktuelle pädagogische Praxis evaluiert. Darüber hinaus werden neue Trainingsmethoden entwickelt. In Studie 1 werden die Effekte der aktuellen Praxis bezüglich der visuellen Verarbeitung und Diagnosekompetenz als Ausgangsbasis erhoben. Zudem werden entsprechende Daten in verschiedenen Studierendenpopulationen erfasst, die sich bzgl. ihres domänenspezifischen Wissens und ihrer Aufgabenerfahrung unterscheiden. In Studie 2 und 3 wird der zusätzliche Einfluss von, auf Blickbewegungsmodellierung basierenden Interventionen auf die Diagnoseleistung und das Blickverhalten adressiert. Studierende betrachten beispielsweise ein Video, das Blickbewegungen einer Person mit guter Diagnoseleistung zeigt. In Studie 4 wird die Effektivität von blickbasiertem, adaptivem Feedback untersucht.



  1. Projektbeteiligte



Publikationen

Castner, N., Kasneci, E., Kübler, T., Scheiter, K., Richter, J., Eder, T., Hüttig, F., & Keutel, C. (2018). Scanpath comparison in medical image reading skills of dental students: distinguishing stages of expertise development. Proceedings of the 2018 ACM Symposium on Eye Tracking Research & Applications (pp. 39-48). New York: ACM. https://dx.doi.org/10.1145/3204493.3204550 

Castner, N., Klepper, S., Kopnarski, L., Hüttig, F., Keutel, C., Scheiter, K., Richter, J., Eder, T., & Kasneci, E. (2018). Overlooking: the nature of gaze behavior and anomaly detection in expert dentists. Proceedings of the Workshop on Modeling Cognitive Processes from Multimodal Data (MCPMD '18) (Article No. 8). New York: ACM.


Konferenzbeiträge

Castner, N., Kübler, T. C., Kasneci, E., Scheiter, K. Richter, J., Eder, T., Huettig, F., & Keutel, C. (2018, Juni). Scanpath comparison in medical image reading skills of dental students: Distinguishing stages of expertise development. ACM Symposium on Eye Tracking Research & Applications (ETRA) 2018. Warsaw, Poland. [Talk]

Eder, T.F., Scheiter, K., Richter, J., Keutel, C., Castner, N., Kasneci, E., & Hüttig, F. (2018, Juni). Do eye movement visualisations foster the interpretation of radiology images and gaze behaviour of dental medicine students? European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI). Special Interest Group (SIG) 27: Online Measures of Learning Processes. Warsaw, Poland. [Talk]

Eder, T. F., Scheiter, K., Richter, J., Keutel, C., Castner, N., Kasneci, E., & Hüttig, F. (2018, August). Do gaze visualisations foster the diagnostic performance and gaze behaviour of dental students? European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI). Special Interest Group (SIG) 2: Comprehension of Text and Grapohics. Freiburg. [Talk]

Eder, T. F., Scheiter, K., Richter, J., Keutel, C., Castner, N., Kasneci, E., & Hüttig, F. (2018, September). Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst: Verändern statische Blickbewegungsvisualisierungen das Blickverhalten und die Befundungsleistung von Zahnmedizinstudierenden bei der Interpretation von Röntgenbildern? 51. Kongress der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (DGPs). Frankfurt am Main. [Vortrag]

Richter, J., Scheiter, K., Eder, T. F., Hüttig, F., Castner, N., Kasneci, E., & Keutel, C. (2018, September). Effekte massierten Übens bei der Betrachtung von Röntgenbildern: Eine Blickbewegungsuntersuchung in der zahnmedizinischen Ausbildung. 51. Kongress der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (DGPs). Frankfurt am Main. [Vortrag]

Richter, J, Scheiter, K., Eder, T. F., Hüttig, F., Castner, N., Kasneci, E., & Keutel, C. (2018, August). How massed practice improves reading radiographs: An eye-tracking study in dental education. European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI). Special Interest Group (SIG) 2: Comprehension of Text and Graphics. Freiburg. [Talk]


Abschlussarbeiten
Eder, T. F. (2017). Entwicklung visueller Expertise bei der Interpretation zahnmedizinischer Röntgenbilder – eine Eyetracking-Studie. Unveröffentlichte Masterarbeit. Universität Tübingen.